A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City

A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City promotional image

Main Library Gallery exhibition:

The International Writing Program (IWP) has brought close to 1,600 writers from more than 150 countries to the University of Iowa since 1967. In celebration of the program’s 55th anniversary, the exhibition A Hub, a Network, an Archive: 55 Years of International Writers in Iowa City tells the story of IWP’s genesis, its role in cultural diplomacy, Iowa City as a site of literary praxis and global networking, and the images of Iowa that writers have carried home with them as represented in their work.

Curated by Nataša Ďurovičová and Lisa Gardinier, the exhibition includes University of Iowa Libraries Special Collections & Archives materials such as the Paul Engle Papers, the International Writing Program Records, the Toothpaste/Coffee House Press Records, and more. Items from the University of Iowa Libraries circulating collection, IWP’s Shambaugh House, and friends of IWP also make an appearance, in addition to a selection of large portraits of writers by photographer Thomas Langdon.

MAIN LIBRARY GALLERY HOURS:

Monday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Tuesday: 9 a.m. – 8 p.m.
Wednesday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Thursday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.
Sunday: 1 p.m. – 5 p.m.

Admission is always FREE. The exhibition will be open Aug. 22 - Dec. 16, 2022. 
Please note that the Main Library Gallery will be closed on the following University of Iowa holidays during the fall semester: Sept. 5 (Labor Day), Nov. 24-25 (Thanksgiving).

Because the Main Library Gallery is an educational space on campus, there may occasionally be classes visiting during open hours. Thank you for your understanding.

The easiest way to access the Main Library Gallery is via the north entrance of the Main Library. Find parking options here: lib.uiowa.edu/locations/main/parking

Monday, November 28, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, August 22, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, August 24, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, August 25, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, August 26, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, August 29, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, September 1, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, September 2, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, September 8, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, September 9, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, September 12, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, September 15, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, September 16, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, September 19, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, September 22, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, September 23, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, September 26, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, September 29, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, September 30, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, October 3, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, October 6, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, October 7, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, October 10, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, October 13, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, October 14, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, October 17, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, October 20, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, October 21, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, October 24, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, October 27, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, October 28, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, October 31, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, November 3, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, November 4, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, November 7, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, November 10, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, November 11, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, November 14, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, November 17, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, November 18, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, November 21, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 23, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, December 1, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, December 2, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, December 5, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, December 8, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, December 9, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Monday, December 12, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Thursday, December 15, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
Friday, December 16, 2022 9:00am to 6:00pm
University of Iowa Main Library
Main Library Gallery
125 West Washington Street, Iowa City, IA 52242
View on Event Calendar
Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Sara Pinkham in advance at 319-467-1805 or sara-pinkham@uiowa.edu.